- Use tax may apply if the online retailer did not indicated in the receipt that they removed California tax.
- FFL dealers are required to collect – if they don’t then they are liable for the used tax owed.
- Ten day waiting period which start when DROS is submitted (City of San Jose has a 15 days waiting period).
- 1 hand gun per 30 days limit
- July 1, 2021 will include semi-auto rifles
- Firearm Safety Devise (FSD)
- By law, when transporting a firearm, it must be in a locked container.
- Go to the California CA approved FSD to find your device for PPT.
- Bring your lock box or hard/soft lockable container w a padlock (TSA lock or any lock).
- If you have a gun safe that is approved by the State of California , then fill this affidavit and bring it with you (don’t sign the form until you’re in the office).
For exempted Californians only. If you have the following document, bring them with you. No documents, then exemptions do not apply (the law is clear and I must follow them).
- 10 Day waiting period exemption
- CFD Number
- *Peace Officer (active or retired) a letter from your “head of their law enforcement agency” with their “wet signature”.
- Special Weapons Permit documentation / number
- 30 day exemption. You’ll only need the documents if you intend to purchase more than one handgun in a 30 day period.
- #3FFL with your COE
- *Peace Officers
- Peace Officer Non-Roster Handgun Transfer
- Peace Officer (active or retired) a letter from your “head of their law enforcement agency” with their wet signature (within 30days)
Storage fees applies:
- Firearm not claimed 10 days after approval from CA DOJ will incur a charge of $3 per day. Our office is small and we require the storage space. All attempts will be made to communicate with you to make sure you pick up your firearm/ammo/firearm component in a timely manner.
Click here for:
- Out of state ID or
- Different surnames
- “FEDERAL LIMITS APPLY”
- FAQ Firearms Rules and Regulations
- DROS – Delays, Undetermined, Denied, or Rejected
- Who are PROHIBITED from possessing a firearm?
- California Assault Weapon
*Peace Officers – If you do not want your proof of residency documents photo copied (I need it by law) then it is permissible to copy your badge/police ID. For Federal Agents, copying your badge is not permissible per federal regulations.
FFL Transfer Fees
- Hand Gun:
- $50 All Handguns (tax and DROS extra)
- Long Gun:
- $50 All Long Guns (tax and DROS extra)
- NICs Check:
- $37.19 California DROS
- $50 C&R handguns (tax and DROS extra)
- $40 Ammos (tax and DROS extra)
- $20 Dealer fee for each additional firearm DROS’d in the same transaction.
Private Party Transfer
- *$47.19 PPT Fee
- (2 CA residents face to face) for 1 firearm
- Buyer and Seller must be present.
- *DROS included
FFL Transfer San Jose
San Jose, CA